political history of Pakistan

  •   0
  •   Amna Ellahi
  •   0
  •   220
The difficulties faced by people during the pre-independence hard to recount where thousands of people sacrificed their life. Before the casting of a new prime minister the political history of Pakistan is worth reading.
political history of Pakistan

Since the independence of Pakistan, so many politicians have ruled the country. There were many who failed to complete their time. The politics of Pakistan take place within the structure established by the constitution. As Elections 2018 is just around the corner so why not to have a look at the political history of Pakistan and about all the politicians who did their best to make this country Pakistan a proud nation to live in.


Before moving towards the political history, pre-independence of Pakistan should be worth mentioning. Pre-independence, a time when Mohammad Ali Jinnah along with many people tried hard to have a separate homeland for us. Long story short we can’t recount all that endeavor and hard work which they did for us.

Prime Ministers of Pakistan

Since 1947 till 2018 eighteen prime ministers served this country and every prime minister tried their best to play their role well. Here is a complete list of all eighteen prime ministers of Pakistan until now.

First Prime Minister

In 1947, when finally Pakistan got an independence after many difficulties when Muslims were able to call themselves a free nation where they could spend their lives according to their desire. Liaquat Ali Khan was appointed the first prime minister of Pakistan who equally played his part along with Mohammad Ali Jinnah for the independence. He was known as the leader of a nation. He remained the prime minister till 1951. On 16th October 1951, he was shot twice in a public meeting. It was the first political murder of any leader of Pakistan. After his death, his wife Ra’ana Liaquat did a lot for the country and was one of my favorite leading woman figure in   Pakistan.

prime minister

Second Prime Minister

After the assassination of Liaquat Ali Khan, Khawaja Nazimuddin held the charge and became the second prime minister of Pakistan. He too tried to play his role well for the betterment of the country but the duration of his seat couldn’t last long and after the Elections of 1954, he was defeated by some other political leader. After a few years, he became ill and died due to his illness.

Third Prime Minister

Mohammad Ali Bogra replaced Nazimuddin in the Elections of 1954. He strongly chased to strengthen the relations between Pakistan and U.S. He remained the prime minister only for 2 years and few months.political history

Fourth Prime Minister

Mohammad Ali became the fourth prime minister of Pakistan but he remained the prime minister for the short time period of 1 year. He was removed by his own party following the successful vote of no-confidence movement.

Fifth Prime Minister

Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy became the fifth Pm. He established Awami league after parted away from Muslim league. His tenure was also for the short time period of hardly 1 year. His prolonged illness took his life.

Sixth Prime Minister

Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar became the sixth prime minister for the shortest period of time hardly 1 month. He was removed in merely 55 days.

Seventh Prime Minister

Froze khan noon was the 7th who remained for 9 months due to the martial law in 1958 which was enforced by Iskander Mirza who was also the president of his own Republican party.

Eight Prime Minister

Nurul Amin took the hold only for a few days. He was referred to as the Patriot of Pakistan and was the last Bengali leader of Pakistan.

Ninth Prime Minister

There would be no one who is not familiar with the 9th politician. Founder of Pakistan peoples party Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto who 3 years and 10 months gave his best to the country. No one can deny his hardships and efforts which he did but sadly his life didn’t give him much chance to serve his country and in 1979 he was downed in a murder case. He is still alive in the hearts of so many people.pre independence

Tenth Prime Minister

After the down of Bhutto, Muhammad Khan Junejo became the Pm for 3 years. He was elected in 1985 as an independent candidate and served Pakistan Muslim league before entering the office.

Eleventh Prime Minister

First ever Pakistani woman who became Pm in 1988 elections was Benazir Bhutto who remained for 1 year and 8 months. She was the first elected woman to lead a Muslim state. After her tenure, the first caretaker Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi was appointed for 3 months.prime minister

Tweflth Prime Minister

Mohammad Nawaz Sharif who served as a Prime Minister for 3 non-consecutive times was first elected in 1990 for 2 years and few months and gave resignation in 1993 after which Benazir was elected in 1993 for 3 years and in 1997 Nawaz Sharif was again re-elected for 2 years and 7 months. In 1999 his government was dethroned by Pervaiz Musharaff and Martial law was imposed by him in the country. While in 2013 again he was elected for 4 years.prime misnister

Thirteenth Prime Minister

Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali was elected only for 1 year and few months and couldn’t resist much and gave his resignation.

Fourteenth Prime Minister

After the resignation of Zafarullah Khan, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain remained only for 1 month.

Fifteenth Prime Minister

In 2004 Shaukat Aziz held his charge for 3 years and became the first Pakistani politician who left the seat after the completion of Parliament.

Sixteenth Prime Minister

Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani was elected in 2008 but later he was disqualified from his seat after the time period of 4 years.prime minister

Seventeenth Prime Minister

For the completion of the time period of parliament, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf became the seventeenth Pm for few months.

Eighteenth Prime Minister

After the disqualification of Nawaz Sharif in 2017, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi became the Pm and completed the time period of parliament.prime minister

0 Reviews
Blogs, Vlogs iGreen Bottom Image